top of page

Willy Russell Exhibition

This evening my friend Kim and I attended the opening of Willy Russell's Exhibition in Kirkby Gallery, we were invited by my cousin who works as a curator there. There was a range of his works from representational to abstract, personally I found his abstract works to be more interesting as this is the style that I like to work with. Willy Russell was there and gave a speech on his work and techniques, I thought the way he made his abstract works was fascinating. He said that he creates them by placing cling film over ink which leaves an impression once dried (seen below). I found his work very inspiring and I really want to try this technique myself. His work also showed me that even the most mundane and everyday objects can be used to make art, something that I will now be on the look out for.

Photo Credit http://www.artinliverpool.com/events/kirkby-gallery-willy-russell-another-aspect/


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
No tags yet.
bottom of page